St. Michael’s Leadership

Originally, the word “Vestry” referred to the room in a church where all the vestments were kept, and where the clergy and servers got “vested” for worship. The word has also come to refer to the body of lay members elected by the congregation to run the secular business of the parish.

Vestry members are adult members of the parish (age 18 or older), confirmed or received members of the Episcopal Church, communicants in good standing at St. Michael’s by-the-Sea for at least one year, committed to a standard of tithing or working towards that goal, regular attendants at Sunday worship, actively involved in parish ministry, and willing to exercise leadership of a Vestry Commission.

A new class of Vestry members is elected every January at the Annual All-Parish Meeting.  Members are elected for three year terms.

The St. Michael’s Vestry currently meets on the 3rd Wednesday of each month at 6.30pm in the Parish Library.  Meetings are open to all members of the parish.

The St. Michael’s Vestry is comprised of the following parish members:

Class of 2018

Marcy Almeida – Prayer & Care
Adam Belt – Christian Formation (Adult)
Eric Schmutzer – Christian Formation (Youth)
Melinda McKinley – Fellowship

Class of 2019

Debra Krepps – Stewardship
Mike Miller – Property Maintanence
Mel Spiese – Finance
Tony Vanaria – Vision

Class of 2020

Cole McCabe – Worship
Billy Gleason – Admin
Jason Linley
Melinda Tomes – Outreach


Senior Warden – Tony Vanaria
Junior Warden – Debra Krepps

Supporting Roles

Treasurer – Richard Yaros
Legal Advisor – Bob Kosse
Clerk – Linda Mumford